My 2022 Tech Story- Three Ways You Can Transition Into Tech And Benefits

My 2022 Tech Story- Three Ways You Can Transition Into Tech And Benefits

'Dev Retro 2022'

My Tech Journey

My tech experience grew strong working with an organization with business focus in real estate and Energy Software IOT system. This was a startup organization in the energy industry, discovered a problem and gathered market research on how clients face energy metering sharing challenges. I was part of the technical team as a project manager, gathered these feedback from clients thereafter we partnered with software firms that developed custom metering system for our clients. This helped me gained technical skill working with the software firm where I was able to develop user guide for clients on how best the software is used , navigation guidelines towards good user experience, understanding their energy consumption pattern and value for their money. I finally developed interest in software development such as finding ways to learn how to build business products that can help solve client daily challenges. My take away from the projects with the software organization were;

  • Understand the interoperability of the devices

  • The automation techniques

  • The programming language used even then I was new to programming

  • Solving clients needs

How I transitioned Into Tech

With the learning from my professional experience though from a non-technical background, I was fully drawn to the tech world. Immediately, I understood that getting into the tech space will afford me the technical skills to build unique products that can solve business challenges. Finding ways to make it a reality, my passion for learning increased connecting me into tech community , this helped me create the desired tech niche for my career path.

Here Comes the Benefits

Having undergone volunteer roles in the tech space and other internship programs, I can finally say I have worked the talk. I also had the opportunity to network and had tech gurus I could learn from and get the required professional information and advice for my tech niche (Software development) . My 2022 tech journey was indeed a learning space for me and I recommend this kind of growth and more to anyone who love to impact their community as I currently got an intern learning role with African Development Bank| Microsoft to get trained and train other youths in the African tech space.

3 Ways You Can Also Transition Into Tech

  • Make up your mind in developing a skill and get into the tech space

  • Once in the space, create a path and or niche for your career path

  • Have the drive for learning

  • Finally learn to impact

See you in 2023

Ogechukwu Aina .

Advocate,Software Developer| Product Management| Technical Writing

#DevRetro2022