My Tech Journey As A Content Editor And Technical Writing Expert

My Tech Journey As A Content Editor And Technical Writing Expert

Introduction

Why You Need To Be Consistent

Consistency they say is 'magnetic'. Within the last three years, I had not only been consistent in my tech career but I have learned so fast that I am thrilled at the pace I learn and get on task and close out projects so fast.

My recent tech journey has been amazing, this has made me work with diverse individuals, learn new skills and volunteer as a technical facilitator.

My Journey As A Content Editor

My journey for writing started in 2020, I had always wanted to get my writing style creative. I volunteered as a content editor in 2021 for a former company I worked with at the time and am currently a content editor at Geeky Nigeria where I learned much faster how to collaborate with teams and within teams on writing and editing research work, designing web content strategy for web sites (WordPress).

Delving Into Technical Writing & Content Editing

This year as a facilitator for technical writing, this was an opportunity for me to put to practice what I have learned all through my tech journey. I remembered dealing with 'Imposter syndrome' but with the help of programs and lessons gathered at the Google Women TechMakers monthly trainings which helped dealt with thoughts that surfaced during an opportunity like this, I finally had the skills to handle the situation and go through the program. I was selected as a facilitator at the She Code Africa ASABA boot camp which spanned two months. Little did I know I was making a huge impact on the program as I felt the students were graduates like myself but I discovered this was not the case of who is who here but to come to learn and myself to deliver on the training. The training became insightful when I started having 1:1 sessions with students on how they can craft articles using the right keyword that promotes SEO and user engagement by referencing other blogs to their articles and increasing analytics for their blogs.

The training ended with leading students to conduct research studies via Google Scholar, technical documentation and other blogs to help their understanding of crafting articles for their blogs, technical documentation and user guides and then finally publishing their articles.

Conclusion

I was thrilled to see students who are ready to learn and get trained as a technical writing professional and how they were able to work on their first technical article projects (design articles and publish) to showcase their performance in the program was my best highlight.

I am excited this comes as a result of hard work and showing up!🥳